Race Results

Sunday 7 July 2013 America's Cup
Class All
Notes BHC

  • OOD: Jon Trepte

    Presented to the Club to celebrate the 4th of July by Dr Paul Carter Jr and Andrew Sawka.

    CMYC America's Cup and Fleet Race competed for on Bolgoda Lake on Sunday 7th July 2013.

    Boat Handicap only applied for the America's Cup

    An international fleet sailed onto Bolgoda Lake with competitors from Sri Lanka, Germany, France, Canada, South Africa, Denmark, UK & Italy. Although there were no American members at the club the America's Cup was still competed for by 6 GP14s. A stiff breeze allowed for a long course to be set & spinnakers were flown to take advantage of the long reaches & runs. At the front of the fleet a strong battle was fought between Duncan & Gail and Per H & Janaka. This contest was eventually won by Duncan & Gail. Jon & Mini occupied the mid water position coming in 3rd with one of their best performances so far

    A fleet race with personal handicap was sailed concurrently for those without crew & was won by Jon & Mini with Duncan & Gail taking 2nd position and Ralf who sailed into 3rd place single handed. The remaining positions were still closely fought for right up to the finish line

    The race results were announced by the OOD - Jon Trepte & the club was fortunate enough to have a representative from America as a guest of the club. Allison kindly presented the America's Cup to the worthy winners Duncan & Gail sailing in their beautiful new GP14 - Gale Force

    A good natured afternoon of race dissection followed over crab curry with all the trimmings, Thai minced beef & beans with rice, and sausages & jacket potatoes brought by various members & generously shared. An American flavour was devoured at the end of the day in the form of chewy American cookies

    Another satisfying & convivial day at the club was concluded with members spoilt for choice of further international sporting achievements to support after leaving the club in the form of tennis with the Wimbledon men's final, motor racing with the German Grand Prix & cricket with Sri Lanka v West Indies


    1Duncan FraserGail Fraser
    2Per G HansenJanaka Krishan
    3Jon TrepteMini Trepte



    Previous Winners

    7 July 2013Duncan Fraser
    1 July 2012Duncan Fraser
    3 July 2011Anil Gunawardana
    4 July 2010Frank Biesterveld