Race Results

Sunday 29 November 2015 Quaich Challenge
Class All

  • OOD: Duncan Fraser

    The Quaich (pronounced quake), was presented to the club by the chieftain of the Caledonian Society of Sri Lanka in 2007, is a special kind of shallow two-handled drinking cup or bowl in Scotland. It derives from the Scottish Gaelic cuach meaning a cup

    Quaich Challenge Cup - 29th November 2015

    Sailors sailed with five boats on the water for the Quaich Challenge Cup which was presented to the club by the chieftain of the Caledonian Society in 2007. A Quaich is a special two handled drinking cup or bowl from Scotland. The name is derived from the Scottish Gaelic “cuach” meaning cup. The trophy is fashioned after a Quaich.

    It was good to see so many families sailing on the lake however it was Mini & Jeremy who finally won the Quaich Cup in very light wind conditions.

    The Pipe Band who were at the end of their visit to Sri Lanka with the Caledonian Society came to the club and entertained and educated us with their musical skills on the pipes and drums and wearing traditional Highland dress. Some of us even got a few notes out of the bagpipes & were rewarded with a sip from the Quaich.

    We were very proud to welcome the chieftain to the club once again when he performed the Ceremony of the Haggis which was piped in by a lone piper.

    The roast dinner comprising - roast Chicken & Stuffing, Haggis, Gravy, Roast Potatoes, Carrots, Peas, Pumpkin and yorkshire pudding topped off with Cheesecake & cakes was absolutely delicious thank you to all who contributed & a special thank you to Gail & Jon who accomplished an amazing feat to produce a truly sumptuous feast for 65 people!!


    1Mini TrepteJeremy Bolling
    2Rob MooreMillie Moore
    3Thibaut de Saint-DenisAnna de Saint-Denis



    Previous Winners

    29 November 2015Mini Trepte
    30 November 2014Jeremy Bird
    1 December 2013Rob Moore
    2 December 2012Frank Biesterveld
    20 November 2011Duncan Fraser
    28 November 2010Per F Svendsen
    22 November 2009Chandima Gunawardena
    30 November 2008Frank Biesterveld
    2 December 2007Per B Svendsen
    26 November 2006Frank Biesterveld