Race Results

Sunday 14 February 2016 Freelanka XO Trophy
Class All
Notes BHC

  • OOD: Joseph Kenny

    Single fleet race. Freelanka Trophies. Presented by Free Lanka Trading. No sailor may win more than one trophy. Order of priority for award of trophies will be XO then Napoleon. Crew must be carried if class has crew

    14th February 2016 - Freelanka Trophies & Fleet Race

    The sea breeze returned to Bologoda Lake & the 8 boats that came out onto the water enjoyed long beats, runs & reaches on an excellent course set by Joe Kenny. He was the only one to complete the course in under an hour with the rest of the fleet following hard on his rudder!! It was good to welcome back some sailors we haven’t seen in a while & have an age range from almost four years old to mid seventies taking part.

    The CMYC would like to thank Mr Asela Kumaranathunga - Head of Sales & Marketing and Mr Sanjaya Wehalla - Channel Development Manager for their generous sponsorship and support of the Freelanka Trophies.

    Mr Asela Kumaranathunga came forward to make a short speech after the racing and present the prizes.

    Here are a few words from our sponsors of these trophies.

    "Thank you very much for the opportunity given to us to come on board as a main sponsor for XO and Napoleon trophies.

    Also for great hospitality at the yacht club.

    Free Lanka trading company (Pvt) Limited was established in 1960. Over the years it has built up an image & reputation of a safe and trustworthy business house. This has enabled the company to have a long and fruitful association with internationally recognised firms from around the world. The Wine & Spirits Division was established in 1981 and today it has evolved in to being a specialist trading company in the Wines and Spirits business representing many reputed international companies and their brands in SriLanka as well as in the Maldives.”

    It was a pleasure to host the sponsors and to have their support and we look forward to next year’s competition.

    Thank you to Jon Trepte for assisting with the OOD duties, to Louise Collier for the pictures, to all the cooks for a splendid dinner & to everyone for joining in and making the Valentine’s Day so special.


    1Joseph KennyJanaka Krishan
    2Mini TrepteJeremy Bolling
    3Rob MooreSarah Flynn



    Previous Winners

    14 February 2016Joseph Kenny
    11 January 2015Thomas Munk
    12 January 2014Anil Gunawardana
    10 March 2013Thomas Munk
    8 January 2012Jeremy Bolling
    9 January 2011Frank Biesterveld
    21 March 2010Frank Biesterveld
    15 February 2009Anil Gunawardana
    27 January 2008Joseph Kenny
    28 January 2007Sarith Pethiyagoda
    29 January 2006Joseph Kenny
    31 October 2004Jeremy Bolling
    2 November 2003Joseph Kenny
    27 October 2002Janaka Krishan
    2001DP Newton
    2000Lalin Jirasinha
    1999P Sagar
    1998Pramukshi Kariyawasam
    1997S Tennekoon
    1996Lalin Jirasinha
    1995Lalin Jirasinha
    1994Anil Gunawardana
    1993L Schroter