Race Results

Sunday 3 November 2019 75th Anniversary Cup
Class BOD

  • OOD: Duncan Fraser

    Presented by Joseph Kenny to Mark the Club's 75th Anniversary Single Fleet Race for BODs No sailor may win more than one trophy. Order of priority for award of trophies will be as follows : Golden Jubilee, Diamond Jubilee, RCYC, 75th Anniversary

    Sunday 3rd November 2019

    On Sunday there were four boats on the water for the Optimist Golden Jubilee Shield.

    Eight boats comprising four GP14s and 3 lasers took part in the race for the four club trophies of Golden Jubilee, Diamond Jubilee, RCYC and 75th Anniversary Trophy.

    On arrival at the club there was doubt as to whether the wind would turn up to enable the racing to take place. Fortunately it did & as the sea breeze fanned the lake the fleet of eight set off first with the Optis to follow on their shortened course.

    Mini & Janaka had a cracking start & it was for them to dance with Anil & Michelle to see who would eventually take the honours. The rest of the fleet battled it out in close quarters. Ernst even had time to capsize! He soon righted himself & his laser. After almost an hour of competition in typically flukey Bolgoda winds Mini & Janaka pipped Anil & Michelle over the line.

    Meanwhile the Optimists had their own battles setting of next. The fleet of eight adding to their challenge as both fleets intersected at times. The Nanayakkara brothers made up the majority of their fleet with their guest Rory completing the display. Dhanika led the way with Nikhil & Niveyn having a close fight for second place.

    The final outcome of the racing can be viewed on the website www.cmyc.lk but here are the list of winners for the trophies

    Dhanika - Optimist Golden Jubilee Shield

    Mini & Janaka - Golden Jubilee Trophy

    Anil & Michelle - Diamond Jubilee Trophy

    Ramali - RCYC Trophy

    Roshanara & Joe - 75th Anniversary Trophy

    It was great to see the competition on the water & to have so many participating. Thanks to the OOD Jon Trepte for setting the course and presenting the trophies.

    At the presentation we were pleased to welcome Dennis Stetzel from Lakewood Yacht Club in Seabrook, Texas & exchange our club burgee with his. After all the formalities everyone enjoyed the traditional CMYC Curry Lunch which once again topped the day with wonderful home cooked curry dishes & accompaniments.

    Thank you to everyone who came to the club to enjoy the day.


    1Mini TrepteJanaka Krishan
    2Roshanara FernandoJoseph Kenny
    3Anil GunawardanaMichelle Gunawardana



    Previous Winners

    3 November 2019Mini Trepte
    4 November 2018Diana Cantley
    29 October 2017Per F Svendsen
    6 November 2016Per G Hansen
    8 November 2015Jon Trepte
    5 October 2014Hans Svendsen
    13 October 2013Joseph Kenny
    11 November 2012Jon Trepte
    6 November 2011Chris Meyer
    8 December 2010
    31 October 2010Hans Svendsen
    15 November 2009Frank Biesterveld
    12 October 2008Mohan Balasuriya
    11 November 2007Steve Giffin
    5 November 2006Duncan Fraser
    14 November 2004Hans Svendsen